The community forums are in BETA and closed to the public.

Javascript syntax with pubnub keys simple chat application

Hi, I have a very simple chat application I modified slightly from a pubnub demo until I try to implement my own publish and subscribe keys. I feel pretty sure that this is a simple syntax issue but I'm very new to javascript and pubnub. I would be very appreciative if someone could help me here. The code is below (and very brief):

Enter Chat and press enter
<div><input id=input placeholder=you-chat-here /></div>

Chat Output
<div id=box></div>

<script src=></script>
  var PUBNUB = PUBNUB({ subscribe_key : 'my subscribe key', publish_key : 'my publish key' }); 
  // if I take the above line out it works fine.  However, when I use this with a Corona app, it gets a quota 
 //  error because the app sends too much data
  // so I need to use my private publish and subscribe keys to avoid that.  Somehow this code uses the  
  //"demo" keys even though its not stated explicitly?
  var box = PUBNUB.$('box'), input = PUBNUB.$('input'), channel = 'z';
  channel : channel,
  callback : function(text) {
  var tst = JSON.stringify(text);
  var obj = eval ("(" + (''+tst).replace( /[<>]/g, '' ) + ")");
  box.innerHTML = obj['msgtext'] + '<br>' + box.innerHTML; }
  PUBNUB.bind( 'keyup', input, function(e) {
  (e.keyCode || e.charCode) === 13 &&
  channel : channel,
  x : (input.value='')

Hey Guy,

Glad to hear you're getting started with PubNub. I fixed your code above and hosted it in a CodePen here:

You were correct in debugging this line: var PUBNUB = PUBNUB({ subscribe_key : 'my subscribe key', publish_key : 'my publish key' });

There are two problems with this. The first is that to initialize PubNub in JS you use PUBNUB.init().

var pubnub = PUBNUB.init({                                  
    publish_key   : 'demo',
    subscribe_key : 'demo'